The Four Paths of Yoga

By Angela Glaz

Ayurvedic Health Coach & 500 Hour E-RYT

Yin+Pranayama+Meditation photo.jpg

It all starts with The Vedas. The Vedas, translating to “knowledge”  are an ancient collection of religious text, originating in India. The texts are structured in four different books that contain hymns, poems, prayers, and religious instruction. The Vedas are where both Ayurveda and Yoga stem from.

Within these ancient text, we learn from Ayurveda that we are all unique; body, mind, and spirit, and given the tools we need to cultivate balance through our diet, exercise, and lifestyle.  As we near the end of The Vedas, The Vedanta, we are taught the five causes of suffering, learn more about our unique personality and preferences, and are provided the four paths of yoga, as a tool to eliminate our suffering.

The Five Cause of Suffering:

1. Not knowing who we are

2. Attachment

3. Aversion

4. Identifying with the ego

5. Fear of death

The Four Paths of Yoga:

There are four main paths of Yoga – Karma Yoga, Bhakti Yoga, Raja Yoga and Jnana Yoga. Each is suited to a different temperament or approach to life. Ultimately, the paths lead us to the same place, but in order to reach the goal of eliminating suffering and finding true wisdom, we need to integrate the the lessons each of them has to offer.

1. Karma Yoga - The path of service

Practicing Karma yoga means letting go of the ego and practicing selfless services. It is a reflection of the ideals of truthfulness and nonviolence.

2. Bhakti Yoga - The path of devotion

Bhakti is the yoga of devotion and love for all. It understands that giving love is the greatest medicine for healing.

3. Jnana Yoga- The path of knowledge

Jnana yoga is the path of self-realization through the practicing of looking inward, finding a deeper understanding of ourselves, the universe and all of it’s truths.

4. Raja Yoga  - The royal path

Raja yoga is practicing yoga as an integral system of balancing meditation with our everyday lives. It is a combination of service, devotion, knowledge, and work.  This practice includes Patanjali's Eight Limbs of yoga.

Make Ayurveda and Yoga a part of your daily life with our online membership site!

Our one of a kind online membership site is is designed to help you navigate your way to a happier and healthier you through 3 main pillars: mindset, diet, and movement. Learn more about your unique body and mind type and gain the resources and  tools you need to cultivate health and happiness through Yoga and Ayurveda.

What you gain from becoming a member:

A community that loves and appreciates you just the way you are.

More self-knowledge, love, and confidence.

The tools you need to take your health into your own hands.

The tools you need to feel like the best version of YOURSELF.

Health and happiness without the stress and overwhelm.