heart chakra and circulatory system

The Heart Chakra and Ayurveda

By Angela Glaz

500 E-RYT and Ayurvedic Wellness Counselor

Heart chakra pic.png

Chakra, derived from the Sanskrit word cakra (meaning “wheel” or “disc”), refers to the areas of clusters of energies in the subtle body.

To many, the chakra system  can seem abstract or even made up, as they come from the belief that our body is more than just physical, it is made up of subtle planes of existence. You cannot physically see the chakras. Chakras live within the theory or belief that there is a more subtle plane of the body where energy lies and within that, exists the chakras.

According to Ayurvedic philosophy, there are 7 main clusters of energy or chakras, which are junctions between the body and mind. These energy centers receive energy from the universe, store it, transform it, and distribute it to specific parts of the body and mind through a network of subtle psychic channels called nadis.

The practice of Kundalini Yoga, which stems from Ayurveda, views our energy as two snakes coiling up the spinal column, known as the shushmna. These two snakes are the nadis, ida and pingla.  Every time the two snakes cross each other a chakra is formed. These are usually represented on the front of the body and are also often correlate with the points at nerve endings, which then connect to specific organs.

What do the chakras have to do with Ayurveda?

Ayurveda is all about preservation of the body and the mind. It believes that when energy does not move properly, the accumulation of disease occurs. Therefore, the chakras being wheels of energy themselves, it is imperative to keep them balanced.

The Heart Chakra

The Anahata Chakra or the Heart Chakra is located at the heart center. It holds the energies that allow change and transformation and is responsible for the ability to forgive and accept.

Heart Chakra Key Characteristics

Energies:  Compassion, empathy, love, harmony, integration, self-acceptance, devotion.

Body Parts: Arms and hands, circulatory system, heart, lungs, and thymus gland.

Element: Air

Imbalanced: Poor circulation, high or low blood pressure, shortness of breath, heart issues, lack of empathy, restlessness, emotional attachment, and selfishness.

Balanced: Hold compassion, empathy, and love, clear and healthy breathing, cardiovascular health, and an open mind.

Do you feel like despite your best efforts toward achievement (it doesn’t matter what it is) you feel stuck? Do you feel like you’re doing all of the right things to live a healthy life, but there are are some places where you just can’t seem to move forward?

Often, despite our best effort in the physical action we take, we see no progress because our energy is blocked or our chakras are blocked.

Be sure to check out our online course, Ayurveda and the Chakra System. In this course you will learn how to balance all of these energies so that you can make a massive shift in your own energy and cultivate lasting change in every aspect of your life.